Skip To Content


McGrath City SealMcGrath was incorporated as a city in 1975. The City of McGrath is a subdivision of the State of Alaska following Alaska Statues: Title 29 Municipal Government rules. McGrath is a Second-Class City, meaning, McGrath is governed by a seven-member City Council elected by the voters. The City Council annually selects a Mayor and Vice-Mayor. Elected Council seats serve for three-year staggered terms. If a seat is empty, a volunteer may be appointed. Appointed seats serve until the next General Election. A General Election is held on the first Tuesday in October of every year.

The McGrath City Code, including all upates to April 2018, is available by clicking on Code of Ordinances in the sidebar. Search by topic. Click on the in the search bar at the top of the document. When you see the magnifying glass icon, type in the subject you want to find.